Board of Directors

Home » About the NWT Montessori Society » Board of Directors

Every year NWT Montessori Society holds its annual general meeting in October where a new Board of Directors is elected.

Current Board of Directors

Chairperson: Megan Wood

Megan has been a member of the NWT Montessori Board of Directors since 2020 and has served as Chairperson since 2022. She is the mother of two young children who have attended the Montessori Society and thrived under the staff’s influence.

Vice Chairperson: Elizabeth McGiffin

Elizabeth joined the Montessori Board in October 2022 and currently sits as Vice Chair. She is a mother of two young children who attend/ will attend the Montessori program! She is a social worker with the GNWT, working with the Child and Family Wellness division.

Treasurer: Coleen Dzuda

With a background in accounting and finance, Coleen brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to her role on the board. Outside of work, Coleen enjoys exploring the outdoors and traveling. She is also the proud parent of a son who thrived in the Casa program. Witnessing his growth and happiness during his time there has deepened her commitment to the society.

Secretary: Joslyn Oosenbrug

Joslyn was born and raised in the NWT and is proud to raise her kids here with her husband, Mitch. A biologist and journalist by training, Joslyn loves to explore the land and lakes around Yellowknife with her family. She is grateful for the caring staff at the Casa program who have been a tremendous influence in both of her daughters’ lives.

Member at Large: Chirag Rohit

Chirag was born and raised in India and moved to Canada. As a guest in this land, Chirag lives with his wife and son in Yellowknife. A trained physician and passionate about the health of the community, Chirag currently manages public health programs for the territorial government. He loves to do handyman work around the house in his free time. His son benefits a great deal from the Casa program, and Chirag wants to give back to the Montessori Society and its staff for their amazing work and dedication to early childhood development.

Member at Large: Colleen Wellborn

Colleen has lived in Yellowknife for 10 years with her husband and three children. As an active community volunteer, Colleen volunteers as a Special Olympics Coach and has served on the boards of the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce, Northwest Territories and Nunavut Construction Association, Yellowknife Homeful Partnership and Avens – A Community for Seniors.  She currently works as the Regional Director for Northview. Colleen joined the Montessori board in 2024 after watching her daughter thrive in the Casa classroom and hopes to have her son start Casa in January 2025.

Member at Large: Janine Rommel

Member at Large: Morgan Moffitt

Morgan was born in Comox BC and raised in the NWT. She is a PhD Candidate in anthropology and works for the GNWT. Morgan loves to sit down with a hot coffee and a good book and enjoys camping and hiking with her family. She attended downtown Montessori as a child and is thrilled to support the society’s work, ensuring a welcome and warm space for children to thrive.

Member at Large: Yannis Labrakis

If you would like to know more about being on the board of directors please view our Board of Directors Guidelines.

To know more about the NWT Montessori Society Bylaws please view our handbook found here.